School of Journalism and Communication, CUHK - The Chinese University of Hong Kong Communication Visiting Scholar Program 2016

The Chinese University of Hong Kong Communication Visiting Scholar Program 2016



The School of Journalism and Communication at the Chinese University of Hong Kong has been organizing the annual Communication Visiting Program since 2008. The Program aims to promote academic exchange and links among Chinese-speaking scholars in cultural China and improve the quality of research of the Chinese research community. The Centre for Chinese Media and Comparative Communication Research (The C-Centre) of the School of Journalism and Communication will play host to this program in 2016.


Program Theme 2016

The theme for the 2016 workshop is “Communication Technologies and New Media Events.” The visiting scholars participating are expected to stay in Hong Kong for up to one month from 24 January 2016 to carry out intensive academic exchange and research.


Workshop Details

Date: 27-28 January 2016
Venue: Room312, Humanities Building, New Asia College, CUHK
Content: The visiting scholars will present papers on the theme of “Communication Technologies and New Media Events”. CUHK faculty members and research students are encouraged to participate in the stimulating discussion after the presentations. Language of presentation and discussion: Mandarin



Workshop Participant List 

Name   Position and Institution
YANG Guobin Associate Professor, Annenberg School of Communication, University of Pennsylvania
HU Yong Professor, School of Journalism and Communication, Peking University
ZHOU Yuqiong Professor, College of Mass Communication, Shenzhen University
ZHOU Baohua Professor, School of Journalism, Fudan University
FU King-wa Associate Professor, Journalism and Media Studies Centre, Hong Kong University
KUANG Chung-Shiang Associate Professor, Department of Communication, Taiwan Chung Cheng University
NIP Joyce Senior Lecturer, Department of Media and Communications, University of Sydney
ZHONG Zhijin Associate Professor, The School of Communication and Design, Sun Yat-sen University
YUAN Guangfeng Assistant Professor, School of Journalism and Communication, Nanjing University
CHENG Yu-Chung Associate Professor, Department of Mass Communication, Taiwan Hsuan Chuang University
WANG Chaoqun Assistant Professor, College of Liberal Arts, Hunan University of Science and Technology
CHEN Shuang Assistant Professor, China Youth University of Political Studies


The Annual Workshop Committee

Prof. Joseph Chan (Standing Co-Convener)
Prof. Jack Qiu (Theme Co-Convener)
Prof. Ven-hwei Lo
Prof. Christine Huang
Prof. Francis Lee
Prof. Donna Chu
Prof. Angela Wu



Dr. Daisy Cheng
Phone: 3943 8709
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.